The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Your Mum Fancies Me

Posted by That Other Mike on 04/11/2007

I used to be fat. And I mean faaaaaaat.

You know those fat guys who always wear really baggy clothes, and never tuck their shirts in, who can never quite meet your eye out in public? Yeah, that kind of fat. 23 stone fat. 150 kilos.

To put a handle on it for Merkins, I used to weigh around 320lbs and was getting bigger every year. Even at my height, that’s heavy.

I decided that I was tired of being a wheezy fatboy and started going to the gym as a New Year’s resolution, and lost 6 stone (84lbs) inside a year, and then gained back a stone in muscle. All to the good, don’t all clap at once. I know, a huge achievement, massively proud of myself, self improvement etc.

However.

Two things changed as a result. The first, minor while simultaneously quite spooky, was that I stopped completely recognising myself in the mirror. Still don’t completely; there’s not that shock of “Who the hell? Wait, that’s me!” so much anymore, although I’m still a little surprised sometimes.

The second is that I became attractive. I know, that sounds awful, like I’m blowing my own trumpet, but I get given the eye by women now, and for some reason, more by older women in their 30s and 40s. Apparently I’m good looking.

Frankly, it’s rather disconcerting. I don’t know what to do with that; how should I react mentally? My own gf is 41 (or will be in 3 days at time of writing), and so the age aspect in no way bothers me.

I don’t know what to think about it; on the one hand it is nice to be attractive to people, it’s an ego boost, even if you are in a committed relationship with someone. That’s just hard-wired into people, I think. On the other hand, it’s weird, because I’m not used to it.

Leave a Reply

 
