The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Aghaaaaa… My teef!

Posted by That Other Mike on 13/11/2007

I have an abcess in my lower left jaw.

Understandably, I’m not superduper happy about this. I’ve had to be off work yesterday and today, because my face is swollen like a pumpkin (I can’t even shave); the tooth is raised up, meaning that my teeth aren’t meeting properly, so I can’t really eat; hot things make me scream in pain, so I can’t eat hot food anyway or drink tea or coffee; and I feel variously nauseous and in excruciating pain. Excruciating, by the way, coming from the same root as crucify; nice.

The upside is, as I blogged on Saturday, that I’ve been taking codeine like it’s been going out of style. So I’ve spent the past few days since it came up feeling mildly buzzed. Unfortunately, it seems to have been a waste of time, as the emergency dental nurse I spoke to said there were cheaper and more effective painkillers for abcesses. Oops.

I have a phone appointment in about an hour with my doctor, who will hopefully prescribe me some antibiotics and give some helpful advice – he’s a good doctor and has always been very good for my problems.

I’m going to watch TV and be miserable until the phone rings.

6 Responses to “Aghaaaaa… My teef!”

  1. mek1980 said

    Well, here’s the deal. I got an emergency exam at a friendly local dentist’s for no charge, for which I am very grateful. I definitely have an abcess, and she gave me a prescription for Amoxicillin for five days, which should clear it up enough until I can get the dentist’s for a proper appointment.

    *sigh*

    Yours sincerely,
    Miserable in Oxfordshire

  2. Nasty — you have my sympathy. I had one way back when I was a wee bairn and it was not pleasant. Hope it’s feeling better soon.

  3. […] Aghaaaaa… My teef! […]

  4. Chris said

    That sounds quite painful. I hope you feel better.

  5. mek1980 said

    Thanks to both of you for the kind words.

    It seems to be going down now. I have today and tomorrow on the antibiotics yet to run.

  6. […] snapped while being extracted, and it stunk, literally. Embarrassingly. I think it was the pus from the abcess. The dentist got one root out no problem, but the other one was so firmly embedded it took him ages […]

Leave a Reply

 
