The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

A few questions for my fellow English Nationalists…

Posted by That Other Mike on 02/12/2007

We all want our own Parliament and government – without half-baked, disenfranchising measures like the “Regions” or a Grand Committee in the UK Parliament.

We all have different political viewpoints; on observation, many of you seem to be centrist or centre-right in your politics, while I am a democrat, republican and syndicalist.

That all being said, what form do you envisage for our Parliament? I have a few ideas of my own, but I’d be really interested in finding out what you see our eventual national assembly looking like. Would it be a bicameral clone of the UK Parliament? A unicameral form like those used in Scotland and Wales? Would it be first past the post or PR?

15 Responses to “A few questions for my fellow English Nationalists…”

  1. Well, Mike, a good start would be to not spend a small fortune designing/creating a new building to house the damn thing.

    Beyond that, I’d go for bicameral. I think. It’s pretty well tested and whilst far from perfect, I’m personally quite comfortable with it (and this is all about me, right? ;-))

    PR would be an interesting change 🙂 Might be disastrous, since the Lib Dems are the only ones who seem to bang on about it so will, I’m assuming, probably be the ones to benefit.

    I’d like it to be online and interactive, too, so we can heckle in real-time. 🙂 “Wankers!”

  2. Mike said

    Heh. Damn straight. Where do you see it being, though? I don’t think we can realistically call London the capital of England anymore; it might be the capital of Britain, but that’s as far as it goes, IMO.

    On the one hand, while I do favour the idea of a bicameral chamber as a tried and tested alternative, it does have a number of drawbacks; not least that one chamber often seems to have less democratic legitimacy than the other. In cases of fully-elected bicameral systems, of course, you then have the opposite problem that the democracy becomes watered down; if both chambers are equally legitimate, how do we decide which should be dominant?

    As to PR and FPP, both naturally have good and bad points; with PR, you have it being fairer and more representative, but it tends to lead to lack of direct representation or definite winners/outcomes by nature of the systems used. With FPP, you have direct local representation and a definite outcome to elections, but you tend to get overbalancing (like the Lab landslide of ’97) where one party effectively becomes unstoppable, plus, of course, there’s the problem that up to half of all the votes ever cast are meaningless.

    My own solution, which I will blog about soon, would, I think, solve both problems. </mysterious>

    Interactivity is another good thing; I’d like to see things like recalls, initiatives etc present as well, at least to some degree.

    Online, real-time heckling… What a good idea!

  3. Maybe we could bung it in cyberspace — a virtual Parliament designed by the folks behind WoW? That would be fun, and we’d be able to weed out the thick twats who can’t use a computer.

    I actually like the fact that the bicameral approach allows for one chamber that isn’t as democratically legitimate as t’other one. It provides the occasional spanner in the works that, if nothing else, is at least mildly entertaining 😉

    Let’s hear this solution, then.

  4. Mike said

    Maybe we should also have an IQ test to stand for it? 😀

    That’s one POV; the Lords are occasionally entertaining when they forget how emasculated their House has become.

    It’s a mix of PR and FPP. I don’t want to go into too much detail here and now, because I’m actually in the process of writing a post on it.

  5. IQ test? Nah, they’ll never be able to spell it, mate.

  6. Mike said

    *snort*

  7. Oh, I had failed to see that I was dealing with an English blog here. English politics, how entertaining! Is this about a movement to get England out of the UK? What are FPP and PR?

  8. Mike said

    Is this about a movement to get England out of the UK?

    Not yet… 😀 It’s about the fact that England is the only Home Nation without its own home rule, the only one without a Parliament of its own; also, the UK government is advocating splitting up England into separate “Regions”, which are without historical or cultural basis and which would effectively end the existence of our country as a meaningful entity. Luckily, following a rather crushing defeat in a referendum to establish its flagship “Regional Assembly”, the plans have been shelved. As I said elsewhere, I’m a few hairs away from becoming a separatist and advocating independence. It’s only my belief that we would all benefit from a federal UK that keeps me from doing so, and that is fast eroding.

    What are FPP and PR?

    FPP = First past the post, the system of winner takes all/plurality winner voting used for elections; the person with the largest single amount of votes wins. I don’t need to tell you that if multiple parties are competing in a single election a majority of voters may end up effectively disenfranchised, their votes wasted, and this applies even with two horse races in which, say, one candidate gains 50.1% of the vote.

    PR = Proportional representation, in which every vote counts towards the final result, regardless of who gets the most.

  9. Ok thanks, I thought FPP and PR were along those lines. And thanks for paying for the BBC! It is the best news coverage I can get.

  10. I guess I should add that I am from The U.S. Texas to be exact.

  11. Mike said

    Well, I like Auntie. There’s some problems there, sure, but overall the news coverage is some of the best in the world. That’s what happens when you’re not beholden to corporate interests or the whims of your owner *cough*Fox*cough*.

    Texas, huh? Whereabouts? My SO is in San Antonio.

  12. I’m about 3 or 4 hours to the North and East of San Antonio, between Houston and Dallas. You must be well traveled to have a SO in SA. What part of England are you from?

  13. Mike said

    Abingdon, in Oxfordshire.

  14. Ah, that’s what I like to see — an American who watches the BBC! Bravo, Joseph 😉

  15. Thank you, thank you. I do more listening than watching though. Oh you’re right by Oxford. I’m in a university town too, College Station, Home of Texas A&M. Its not quite the same thing as Oxford.

Leave a Reply

 
