The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Christian boycotts prove ineffectual to The Golden Compass

Posted by That Other Mike on 10/12/2007

The Golden Compass, the film adapted from the first part of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy, has had a relatively strong opening weekend in the US, pulling in $26.1m and $55m elsewhere.

I have to admit to a certain amount of malicious glee on hearing this; WordPress and the rest of the Intertubes has been all abuzz with Christian fundamentalists not only shrieking but thrashing and wailing about the film’s supposed agenda of converting young chilluns to Atheism. Cries for a boycott have been echoing all over the place, many sites promising to kill The Golden Compass as surely as Pullman kills God in The Amber Spyglass.

My glee comes from seeing a group which is generally so puffed up about its own importance being taken down a peg or two; it never ceases to amaze me just how much weight is given to the viewpoints of evangelical fundamentalists, both in the media and by the churches themselves. Of course, it’s impossible to tell what came first – the media’s belief in evangelical power or the evangelicals’; they feed on each other, each inflating the other.

Anyway, the short version seems to be that the American public, which is overwhelmingly centrist and moderate, acted sensibly and without listening to the evangelical fundamentalists, which can only be a good thing; extremist groups with political agendas arranged around the reorganisation or even destruction of the middle of the road way of life so characteristic to the modern West are a Bad Thing™

(H/T to The Great Realization)

31 Responses to “Christian boycotts prove ineffectual to The Golden Compass”

  1. magikent said

    thanks for the link. boycotting wackos are claiming victory because, relative to movies opening this last weekend in other years, The Golden Compass didn’t bring in that much money. But it’s first at the box office. So what, did the Catholic League’s boycott also affect sales of all the other movies too?

  2. Mike said

    Maybe God just has a really poor aim…

  3. Well, the cock-eyed git hasn’t got me, yet, so I’m guessing he either has, Mike, or… well, it is his only son’s birthday, soon, so maybe he’s down the pub getting pissed like a real bloke? We all need time off, right?

  4. Mike said

    The Bible says that he only ever took Saturdays.

  5. Selena Parsley said

    I am almost certain God is shivering in a corner somewhere biting His nails nervous because an atheist wrote some books and then turned them into a film. *Rolls eyes*

    Boycotting the movie is a bad move on their part it’s just going to increase the sales and grab interest where people may not have given this film the time of day otherwise. I garuntee you it will be the Christians freaking out that will increase the sells of this movie.

  6. Selena Parsley said

    *sales

  7. Mike said

    I am almost certain God is shivering in a corner somewhere biting His nails nervous because an atheist wrote some books and then turned them into a film. *Rolls eyes*

    Do non-existent beings have nails?

  8. Selena Parsley said

    yeah and He goes the the Pub and takes Saturdays off, keep up!

  9. Actually, I’m thinking he might be more of a wine bar kinda guy — and though I have no evidence for this, I have complete faith in the fact that he can be found there every Friday night, too, decked out in medallion and sporting a sparkly shirt. It’s says so in the Bible, though it’s frequently misinterpreted as meaning something completely different.

  10. Selena Parsley said

    Gary~ “…have complete faith in the fact that he can be found there every Friday night, too, decked out in medallion and sporting a sparkly shirt.”

    The Roxbury? I think I saw him there with these cats.

  11. Mike said

    *blinks* Did I just wander into a first draft of Houellebecq novel before he added the malevolence and cod philosophy?

  12. 🙂 Can this non-existent god (must remember my position) moonwalk?

  13. More of an outline than first draft, mate. Now shush — I think I’ve pulled…

  14. Mike said

    Dude, she’s a fundamentalist Christian Creationist. She’ll only tease you and never put out.

  15. I know, but she is kinda cute… and not all atheists are driven by lust — okay, that’s a lie, but don’t tell her. I’ll use my heathen charm on her. Watch a pro at work 😉

  16. Mike said

    Watch a pro at work

    You or her? Daaaaaayum! Oh no, you didn’t! rofl

    I’m such a bad man.

  17. Selena Parsley said

    If y’all want to watch a pro at work, here I am live.

  18. I love the way you say “ambience”, Selena… *sigh*

  19. Selena Parsley said

    “I love the way you say “ambience”, Selena… *sigh*”

    And I love the way you try to sound not gay.

  20. Mike said

    Ouch.

  21. Gay as a slur doesn’t really work in my neck of the woods, Selena. Folk like me don’t see it as a disease in need of curing.

  22. Selena Parsley said

    Gary is turning serious on this thread.

    *Offering him a comeback to use on me* ~

    “And I love the way you try to sound not Christian.”

    *Note to self, stop playing around with people when you see other people playing around because it seems that when I do it it turns serious all of a sudden.*

  23. I’d just woken up. Not a morning person 😉

    I did actually think you were getting serious, though, to be honest. No smiley, and I clearly misread it because of this.

    Kiss and make up? In the name of atheist/Christian relations? 😉 (Hmm? Oh, okay, a very chaste kiss on the cheek ;-))

  24. Mike said

    Face cheek. Just wanted to make sure we were all on the same page.

  25. Selena Parsley said

    There isn’t a “bats eye lashes” emotioncon.

    “Kiss and make up? In the name of atheist/Christian relations? (Hmm? Oh, okay, a very chaste kiss on the cheek ;-))”

    I am a fan of affection!Remember my video? 😀

    Talk to you two heathens later.

  26. LOL… I love it when she calls me a heathen *swoons*

    Yes, affection is good, Selena. I’m with you on that one.

    PS — Thanks for the clarification, Mike 😉 And quit you’re sniggering 🙂

  27. *your

  28. Wow this has moved far from the Golden Compass! I just wanted to say, as a fundamentalist Christian that it was a great movie. Controversy drive sales. I think it is interesting that Pullman created a universe where the supernatural is far more visible than it is here.

  29. Oh, Salena is a fellow Texan! The world (and the WWW) is teeming with us!

  30. Mike said

    Well, if you live in Texas, escapism is almost inevitable. Ask my missus. 😀

  31. Selena Parsley said

    Texan here! I did a wordpress tag on God or Jesus and I landed here and I haven’t left. Looking for God I found the devil.;-)

Leave a Reply

 
