The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Dear Richard Littlejohn: You Suck

Posted by That Other Mike on 19/01/2008

H/t to the f-word blog.

I try to avoid reading The Daily Mail wherever possible. I find the politics espoused in it to be utterly reprehensible and vile, all of it expressed in primary school English1. Frankly, if I want my intelligence insulted while I fly into a rage about something, I at least want it done with a certain amount of wit and flair.

Therefore, I tend not to have my brain insulted and overheated by people like Richard Littlejohn. All to the good.

A little background on him before I get to the reason why I’m posting – Littlejohn is a scumbag. That’s the short version. The long version is that he’s a fucking scumbag.

His notable achievements include writing a book of Essex girl jokes; equating lowering of the age of consent for gays to 16 with paedophilia and calling for police to use flamethrowers against pro-equality protestors; being disgustingly and vilely homophobic at every opportunity and generally being a hero to the BNP, not to mention inflicting a series of stupid books and television programmes onto the British public, all of which, joyfully, have tanked.

In light of that, I can only imagine that the latest turd he has seen fit to squat down and release onto us was written in a desperate fever of publicity seeking. I have to, in a way; I don’t know that my belief in the perfectibility of humanity would survive the knowledge that he actually believes what he writes here about the recent murders of five prostitutes in Ipswich:

It might not be fashionable, or even acceptable in some quarters, to say so, but in their chosen field of “work”, death by strangulation is an occupational hazard.

That doesn’t make it justifiable homicide, but in the scheme of things the deaths of these five women is no great loss.

Five dead human beings are no great loss? Five women are dead, whose deaths could have been prevented, and this man is making hay off them, minimising their deaths and the suffering of their families, turning them into political points for his bigotry. Just reading it makes me feel like I need to wash the stink of him out of my brain.

This man is a disgrace to journalism and the humanity he disavows with this piece.

I can’t even begin to express how vile I find the article. I am deeply outraged by the opinions themselves and by the fact that this kind of opinion is expressed in a national newspaper and that the entire editorial staff of the Daily Mail hasn’t expired in a burst of shame and self-loathing for allowing it. This is one of those moments when my anger is so acute that anything I say will come out as an incoherent growl.

Debs at Feministfire does a much better job of excoriating him than I would. While I don’t exactly line up with her on every point, there or elsewhere, she gives him the kicking he deserves:

Littlejohn, just come out with it. You are disgusted by these women. You think their lives were worthless and without meaning, and you are glad they are dead.

She also has the very good idea of writing to the Mail to complain about this. The contact details for the Mail’s editor are given in her post.

Gah. I feel filthy for even having read it.


1 For those of you not in the know, it’s a slightly less bastardly version of the Völkische Beobachter –full of racist invective, sexism and homophobia– as done for Little Englander Nimbyists.

13 Responses to “Dear Richard Littlejohn: You Suck”

  1. I’m fucking speechless. Honestly, Mike, I just don’t know what to add other than to say that it (“in the scheme of things the deaths of these five women is no great loss”) is the most offensive comment I’ve read/heard in a good while. The horrible, pathetic little man.

  2. Mike said

    It’s just vile, isn’t it? I’m thinking about writing a complaint letter. It probably won’t do any good, but then again, it might. Another terrible thing is that he wears this kind of vile attitude as a badge of pride, the lone and rugged individualist voice against Political Correctness Gone Mad™

    I tell you, it really makes my belief in the perfectibility of humanity wobble.

  3. Well, I’m all for a healthy irreverence for Political Correctness, as I think you probably know — but this is something else entirely. It does very real harm on so many possible levels.

    Maybe a group letter? You knock something up and we’ll see how many people we can get to sign it?

  4. Mike said

    Well, there’s PC and there’s PC – I think the healthy and noble desire to use language which is not demeaning or dehumanising has been warped in the public mind into some kind of killjoy censorship.

    I think that sounds like a brilliant plan. I shall start working on it posthaste. Hmm. That was slightly Victorian.

  5. Yup, I think the whole PC issue has been abused from both sides and, as you say, “warped in the public mind into some kind of killjoy censorship”. The likes of Littlejohn make it much more difficult for those of us concerned by the “fixes” that some wrongly believe avoiding a certain word can provide, when the real issue goes far deeper.

    Let me know when it’s done and I’ll blog about it etc.

  6. Selena Parsley said

    Prostitution is not uncommon. I come from a family with lots of secrets. I did manage to captured some whispers here and there. I’ve pieced somethings together. I am certain that this was a way of life for a period of time with one, possibly two members that I love and respect. People still have value and purpose no matter what!

    With a name like Littlejohn maybe he is trying really hard to over compensate for something? Show those dead women who is boss LITTLE…john! (Never heard of the man before reading this.)

  7. Mike said

    People still have value and purpose no matter what!

    Exactly!

  8. Even third-rate, gutter-press journos? 🙂

    I think Selena’s hit the nail on the head — the “real people” behind the (oldest) profession. People like Littlejohn can’t see beyond what they do, or refuse to. Says a lot about him.

  9. Mike said

    *puts on humanist hat* Even them.

    I think that he simply refuses to see them as people.

  10. […] Dear Richard Littlejohn: You Suck […]

  11. I have to agree with you here, this man’s views on human life are barbaric and animal.

  12. JohnDemetriou said

    Fantastic article – I couldn’t agree more.

    John Demetriou

  13. Mike said

    John:

    Thanks for complimenting and commenting! I’ll be sure to stop by at your place and take a look around.

Leave a Reply

 
