The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Ring-ding-a-ding-a-ding-dong-ding!

Posted by That Other Mike on 03/06/2008

OK, while I’m getting mad levels of hits (thanks for the HT, Jill), I thought I might as well use the opportunity to promote the new project that Gary is starting. It’s going to be a fiction-based webring, aimed at bringing largely unseen writers and talent to an audience wanting new and interesting fiction.

The ring, which is still somewhat in the planning stages, will be aimed at promoting the work of new and emerging writers to the legion of readers out there who want quality fiction. The idea is to build an online community wherein the writers can gain a receptive audience, promote themselves and get informed criticism and help in becoming better at their craft. Hopefully, it will also provide a spur for those interested in writing who have never taken the plunge, or those, like myself, who do it far too infrequently and with too little motivation. There is also, as Gary says, the very useful goal of having some fun with like-minded people.

The ring will hopefully end up large and successful, but to do that, we need interested people to join. If you’d like to take part, please go and post a comment on the relevant thread at his blog.

15 Responses to “Ring-ding-a-ding-a-ding-dong-ding!”

  1. which is still somewhat in the planning stages

    *Splutters tea on computer screen*

    You got that right… I have got a name for it now, though; Idiosyncratica — the Writers Blog-Ring. What do you think? πŸ™‚

  2. Mike said

    Can I get an Idiosyncratican passport?

  3. Lottie said

    Idiosyncratica? Ooohhh… I’m gonna fit right in. lol

    I like it! πŸ˜€

  4. I can see you doing your sidebar stuff, dude πŸ˜‰

  5. Mike said

    I’m in my sidebar linkin all ur d00ds πŸ˜€

  6. I guess that means you like it, reet? Not too carnival-esque for ya? πŸ˜‰

  7. J W Kraft said

    hey Mike, it’s been a long time, I thought I’d stop by and see what has been going on at your blog. Do I understand that you got hitched? Congratulations! What side of the pond are you living on now?

    what is the genre of this new fiction ring? it sounds interesting, I’ll have to check it out.

    I moved my blog to http://www.JWKraft.com, but I still have to use my old WordPress login to leave a comment. The blog has been pretty lethargic over the last few months, but that’s where it is.

  8. Mike said

    Joseph: We got married on the 20th March πŸ™‚ and thanks. I’m still over here in the UK, because we’re doing immigration stuff, but we’ll end up in the US eventually.

    The genre is… fiction. That’s it. We’re still looking at ironing out some of the details, but you’re welcome to join.

    Gary:

    I guess that means you like it, reet? Not too carnival-esque for ya?

    Yeah, and it’s not too carnivalian; it’s more like a magazine. Hey, now there’s an idea…

  9. Magazine… oh don’t! I tried that an’ it hurts.

    Yeah, the more the merrier, Joseph. Let me know if you want in.

  10. Mike said

    One more thing, Columbo-style: how do we decide who’s in the ring and how to update members if we just let someone in?

  11. Well, I think we may have to have a fairly open door policy. I don’t want to get into that whole thing of people getting pissed off because they’ve been excluded… but, of course there should be a few ground rules.

    How about this?

    1) We limit ourselves to a specific number of members.
    2) A new member must be recommended by an existing member.
    3) Members must participate in group postings/activities. If not, after suitable rope has been given, they’re out.

    As far as updating etc goes — yup, that’s already becoming an issue. That missus of yours suggested using my blog as the group “home”, which should work well enough. Once things are organised, the number of update posts shouldn’t be too excessive.

    Bearing in mind this last was Lottie’s idea, what do you reckon? πŸ™‚

  12. Mike said

    Excellent plan, for real. I was wondering if we should have a static home blog, anyway, and it makes more sense to have one that’s already there.

    She’s a smart one, my wife. πŸ˜€

  13. Should guarantee me a few page hits, too…

    … I could marry her myself, if she wasn’t already spoken for πŸ˜‰

  14. Mike said

    Not only spoken for, shouted for πŸ˜€ But I can see why you’d be envious, though. She’s quite a catch πŸ™‚

  15. Lottie said

    ::sings::

    You can’t see what anyone can see in anyone else but me.

    Da da da da da da da da da da da

    πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

 
