The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

BWO

Posted by That Other Mike on 29/06/2008

I think anyone who visits this blog regularly has by now realised that I am not a frequent blogger. It doesn’t come particularly easy for me, most of the time, and I often just don’t feel like I can be bothered to do it, if I’m honest.

And that leads me to feel a little guilty – which is ridiculous! I know that the Odd Blog isn’t XKCD or Feministing or Alas, A Blog. People aren’t waiting with bated breath for my latest pronouncements on whatever happens to interest me lately; I know some of you turn up whenever I post something (mainly because I have secret cameras installed in your houses), but I also know that you probably aren’t going to be riddled with sorrow if I don’t post anything for a week or two.

I think maybe that part of it is to do with not having a clear focus for the blog: I didn’t start the OB with anything more in mind than just having a blog. There is no theme, unlike the aforementioned ones, which deal respectively with cartoons, feminism and cartoons and feminism. Yes, I chose those three blogs for that precise reason; it seemed neat. Synchronicity, if you can stand that horrible word.

If I had a theme, I might be somewhat more consistent in posting; but as I said, I don’t, unless you count the disordered contents of my own mind as a theme. Some people might, actually, although it’d only ever be an exercise in deviant psychology.

That said, my blogging habits come in fits and starts: sometimes, I don’t post anything for weeks on end, and other times I’ll pop out several in a day. There’s no predictability there, and that’s what makes me feel a little guilty sometimes.

Or it did, anyway, until I saw this:

BWOAfter coming across what seemed to be the 4000th or so post on someone’s blog starting with “I’m sorry I haven’t posted in awhile.” I decided it is time to rethink what makes a good blog and the expectations that have come to be part of it. I am thinking that no one should utter those words again . . .and with that thought I give you Blogging Without Obligation.

There’s more on the page, but what this whole thing really means is that unless you’re blogging because someone’s paying you to do it, you’re probably doing it for your own amusement or pleasure, rather than because you have to. In which case, you should probably stop treating it like something you have to do and et back to treating it like something you want to do.

We’ve probably all been guilty of this at some point or another; I know I have. But I’m not going to be anymore. In the future, I’m going to take the advice and not feel obliged to blog.

If you don’t see me for a while, that’s why: I’m waiting to have something I want to say. I urge you to do the same.

In other news, I now have a bike, which will make the journey to work a hell of a lot easier, especially after the office move, which I have helpfully not blogged about. Ahem. We’re moving our office from the crappy sick building. This will be taking place on the 4th July, which is when we’ll be packing everything up into crates and running around like headless chickens.

Our first day in the new open plan office, shared with other teams, will be the 7th, which is coincidentally the same day our work year starts properly. Ah! I love the smell of disaster in the morning.

It should make for an interesting week; despite the sterling efforts of our business support manager to keep everything under control, I’m afraid I think Murphy’s Law will come into play. Not only because of cosmic perversity, but also because some of our staff have something of an entrenched attitude and have opposed the move from the get-go.


Currently listening to Metáfora by Lole Montoya. Lole Montoya

Third solo album by Lole Montoya, the artist who along with Manuel Molina renewed flamenco and made history. On her new album Lole once again demonstrates her “duende” and sincere and marked flamenco personality.

“Metáfora” brings new airs, new inspirations, new sounds, new rhythms but all with the same colour: that tone that Lole Montoya gives it.

8 Responses to “BWO”

  1. Lottie said

    The timing for this is perfect. I won’t be able to blog much (if at all) this week because I have a ton of work to do and still need to make time for my son and my husband. But you knew that. 😉

    Thanks for posting this. I enjoyed reading it and appreciate the message.

  2. Bone bloody idle! Never mind all this blogging without obligation crap, get your finger out, old chap! At least for tomorrow when, as I’m sure you know, the first Idiosyncratica topic is due (mine is all done and scheduled to pop up automatically at one minute past twelve tomorrow morning!)

    It is a good point, though. I try to post regularly because I see it as an extension of my work, but were it not for that, I’d probably be a lot more selective.

    Just don’t stay away too long, both of you, okay?

  3. Lottie said

    Mine is all done too. It will post automatically at 1:00 tomorrow morning, which will be 7:00 a.m. for the two of you. Well, if I have the damn thing set properly, it will.

    Just don’t stay away too long, both of you, okay?

    Don’t worry, you guys are stuck with me. 😛

  4. Mike said

    I haven’t written mine yet. Not a word.

  5. Lottie said

    I have adjusted the posting time for my Idiosyncratica post. There’s something else that I think should have the top spot on my blog for a few extra hours. I hope you don’t mind, Gary. It will post at 12:00 noon my time, which will be 6:00 p.m. for you.

    It’s just something I had to do.

  6. J W Kraft said

    Hey Mike, I like the B.W.O. I put it on my own site. Which brings us to the next issue. Perhaps because I am such a good blogger W.O. (IE infrequent) and also a blog reader with out obligation, I don’t know what the deal is with Idiosyncratica. That is to say, I haven’t written a thing for it. Is there a site with the information on it? Or is this all just word of mouth?

  7. Mike said

    OK, we’re doing it in a loosely organised fashion, but the latest announcement is here.

  8. […] BWO […]

Leave a Reply

 
