The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

My fiction and me – on being a writer and reader

Posted by That Other Mike on 01/07/2008

Before I get into my shtick about fiction, I’d just like to thank everyone who has decided to take part in our readers’ and writers’ group by joining Idiosyncratica. I’m sure we’ll all find it enjoyable and useful.

The topic we chose was “My fiction and me”, which I think is a nice and gentle opener. It may get more complex later on as we get into the swing of things and grow more confident as a group; then again, it might become easier for us to handle. We’ll see, anyway.

I’d like to start by talking about what I read. Ever since I was a young child, I’ve been an avid reader. Mainly, I think, because I am by nature quite shy; I have learned to overcome it and be more outgoing, but it is an act of will rather than nature.

My reading runs a wide range, although I am very much a fan of the 20th century in terms of what I read, probably because the 20th was the first century in which reading was not a pursuit only of the wealthy who had leisure time: it saw a huge variety of different genres explode onto the scene in a very short time, from the hardboiled noir of Chandler to the elegant visionary themes of Alfred Bester to the psychological mastery of Patricia Highsmith. The sheer volume of different books about different themes and by such different people are enough to make the 20th century my favourite.

On my bookshelf, Vernon God Little sits next to The Left Hand of Darkness and The Wasp Factory:I will read almost any genre, although I do have my limits and my favourites. I am always drawn to science fiction, perhaps because it so often offers a vision of better future, and to horror and the supernatural, my affection for which I’m almost scared to analyse! I tend to stay away from romance fiction and I often find myself turned off by modern literary fiction, which too often takes pretence and obfuscation and confuses them with profundity.

I also adore certain writers beyond all measure and will remain for ever loyal to them: Margaret Atwood, Patricia Highsmith, Ursula K. Le Guin, Iain Banks (M. or not!), for example. They have created utterly believable characters in backwoods America, apocalyptic futures or utopian worlds of wonder; they tell incredibly human stories set among grand vistas in space or among the claustrophobic nightmare of the 1950s small town.

That’s who I like to read. My writing is a different story. I write with hesitation and I really dislike the actual process of writing. It doesn’t come easily to me, and I’m never sure if anything I do is actually worth reading.

It’s not that I have trouble with story or plot – they arrive whole into my brain, with beginnings and endings and every event, all sketched in faint lines. What I have to do is fill in the colour and block out the shapes, which is what I find difficult.

As far as what I write goes, it mirrors my reading habits – I feel drawn to the supernatural and technologically magical, as well as the darker side of human habits and personalities. This makes me a little wary of showing stuff to people sometimes, and also a little disturbed about it: if I can come up with the most horrific things to happen to my characters, what does that say about me as an individual? I sometimes need to be reassured that it isn’t the mark of a psychopath to write psychopaths, but Lottie and Gary both assure me that isn’t the case. I am thus reassured 😀

Anyway, those are my reading and writing habits: my fiction and me.

4 Responses to “My fiction and me – on being a writer and reader”

  1. Like you, I sometimes wonder at my love of horror and fantasy. Thank you for some interesting insights into your writing. I always thought that writers must have a compulsion to write and that the act of writing was an almost orgasmic release.

  2. Mike said

    Well, I don’t know if I’d go that far… 🙂

    But yes, it is something of a release. Thanks for reading and coming by 🙂

  3. The darker side of human nature etc is incredibly fascinating — to the writer and reader — and whilst I’m not as into it as I once was, I certainly don’t see it as in any way psychopathic! If that were the case, I’m sure most of us would be wearing one of those funny jackets with the long sleeves that fasten up the back!

    You’ve just reminded me, actually, of a short story I once wrote. The title was Bad Bobby Neutrino and the Dark Matter Motherfuckers from Hell. It was basically the story twins, brother and sister, who were in an incestuous relationship, did drugs, raped girls with cerebral palsy, killed an Asian shopkeeper and, ultimately, became a pair of standing stones out on the moors. A small press magazine called Peeping Tom very nearly published it. It was so over the top and politically incorrect that in spite of its very deliberate excess, they were tempted. Andy Cox at The Third Alternative, however, referred to it as “this crap” and told me that he hoped it was temporary aberration 🙂 I think I really disturbed him because, as experienced as he was, a part of him, I would bet, wondered about the mind that could create something so sick. In short, he just didn’t get it.

    The point is, I never did any of those things myself and never would. It was fiction. It disturbed me, it disturbed readers — and that was the point. It also made me think and gave me a brief look into a world I would never want to experience first-hand. That is another of the beauties of fiction; exploring dangerous subjects from the safety of your armchair. Healthy, I’d say.

  4. […] to Idiosyncratica! A warm welcome to all of our members and anyone […]

Leave a Reply

 
