The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

For my wife

Posted by That Other Mike on 14/07/2008

For the past week, Lottie has been dealing with various posts and issues around various blogs regarding domestic violence. For reasons which will be clear if you read this post, this is starting to wear on her a little. The flak she’s getting over here also isn’t helping.

I want to help her feel better, and I don’t know how, concretely, and that’s frustrating. My attempt at doing it is below. While it’s not something that I wrote with her specifically in mind, it does express some of how I feel about her; the feel of it is right.

Being Romantic
How do I love thee? Let me count the ways, I said,
Trying to be romantic.

(A waste of time on the beach at Blackpool,
Some have said. But I tried anyway)

Seventeen, she said,
(Utterly prosaic).

What?
Seventeen, she said,
And licked her ice cream cone.

I don’t get it, I said, and shivered
(I didn’t have any ice cream.
Too cold for me, but she wanted one).

Seventeen, she said,
It’s the number of positions we’ve tried,
And gave it another lick.

I was being romantic, I said,
And watched her tongue, all pink.
I meant ways of loving, not
Ways of making love.

Oh, she said.
Sorry.

It’s alright, I said.
Give us a bit of your ice cream.

She said nothing.
And smiled.

Eighteen, I said,
And took a bite.

8 Responses to “For my wife”

  1. Lottie said

    I love you!

  2. Mike said

    I love you too! *smooches*

    We’d better stop before Gary turns up and a) delivers a devastating critique of my poem and b) tells us to get a room 🙂

  3. kallioppe said

    I thought your poem was great. It also made me want an ice cream cone. You are a lucky lady Lottie and you are lucky too Mike. Now I’m off to get some ice cream!

  4. Mike said

    Thanks! It’s always good to hear nice things 🙂

    What flavour? :lol

  5. Lottie said

    Thanks for your nice comment, Kallioppe. It was much needed at this point. 😀

  6. […] July 16, 2008 This has been a really rough week and my emotions have been all over the place. I honestly don’t know what I would have done without the ongoing support of my wonderful husband, Michael. […]

  7. kallioppe said

    You are welcome Lottie. I didn’t even read the line above the poem! Duh. Sorry but I’ve returned with half a brain.

    Have just done so now and emerged with a headache. What drama. Keep strong. You are a survivor and clearly have people who love you and are supportive. Misunderstandings abound because everyone wants to feel as if their opinions are more important than other people’s experiences. It gives a semblance of control. Sheep mentality. What you’ve been through sets you apart from every one – what is important is that you’ve emerged still able to love and give and maintain empathy for other people. So ignore the nay-sayers and those who would generalise or try to mainstream every DV experience. Let them fight it out with rules and definitions that have nothing to do with you.

    Oh and it was mango sorbet!

  8. Lottie said

    Thank you so much for your sweet words of support, Kallioppe. I’m almost at a loss for words. It just means… more than you know. Really.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
