The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

I shot a man in Reno for purposes unidentified

Posted by That Other Mike on 23/08/2008

Nothing much going on lately. My old boss is back from maternity leave after a year.

Anyway. We’ve just done a large mailshot from the office of over 1000 letters. A mailshot of 1000 may not seem a lot to some of you who’ve worked in mailing houses or large corporations, but it is a fuckload when two or three of you have to fold and stuff the envelopes by hand…

It’s a bit of a primitive method, but there you go.

Recent search terms of interest include:
“She’s going to write your name on her” which would be marginally less worrying if it were a truncated of the kind which often turns up in search terms… But it’s an entire search.

And then an interesting variant on our old favourite:
“what does grr mean in dinosaur?” Fantastic! Someone out there not only thinks there is a language of dinosaurs, but also that it includes the word grr.

My favourite search term of the last week, though, was simply “bah!”.

I love the internet, it’s full of nutters.

Speaking of nutters, you will all remember my fascination/obsession with Johnny Cash; it’s been in full force the past few days.

Like everyone else in the world who’s ever liked a musician, I look him up on YouTube, and I’ve come across some really cool videos which I will be dropping in here and there.

Not all of them are JC himself, though; this first one is an interpretation of one of his standards, Folsom Prison Blues.
I like this version a good deal. Sure, it’s being played on terrible instruments which probably ought to have been scrapped years ago, and is sung by two men who are competent but not brilliant singers. Technically speaking, it’s adequate but not stellar. So why do I like it so much?

I suppose because it demonstrates passion and a deep enjoyment of the song, which is one of my favourites. The guys who did this version have also done a number of other covers; I urge you to go and look.

Incidentally, one of my favourite ever XKCD cartoons spoofs FPB.

Another thing which I found by accident is Johnny Cash spoofing Elvis. I think it’s hilariously funny, and it seems pretty accurate. It should be noted that this is only done in fun; they were apparently friendly.

That being said, I would’ve liked to have seen JC doing a real version of Heartbreak Hotel. Anyway, here it is:

I thought it was pretty good… He definitely had a sense of humour, that man. I think it’s pretty evident and obvious that he was a man with a deep and abiding sense of the absurd and an appreciation for how it can just be really damned funny. This is borne out by some of his songs like The One on the Right Is on the Left and One Piece at a Time. The choice of some songs reflected a wry sense of humour on Cash’s part; it seems to me that he enjoyed the comedy of the absurd. Whether this is because he just was that way or because he spent a lot of time around country and western singers is a debatable point.

Anyway, that said, my favourite silly song by Cash is below. This one is taken from the album recorded live in San Quentin. Disturbingly, I’ve listened to this song so many times that I actually know the lyrics. Lottie knows which it is without looking, I suspect.

In other news, I’ll be starting a new blog somewhere else on the 1st September. That’s all I’m going to say for now, but I think it’ll be interesting. This blog will remain, and will still be sporadically updated, as always ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s about it for now.

10 Responses to “I shot a man in Reno for purposes unidentified”

  1. Lottie said

    What a funny coincidence. The night before you posted this, I had been looking at XKCD. I was looking for a Saturday cartoon to post. I almost posted that one because it reminded me of the kind of silly banter you and I frequently engage in.

    I shot a man in Reno, then ate a chocolate pie. ๐Ÿ˜€

    And I did know which song… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Mike said

    ๐Ÿ˜€ I shot a man clown in Reno, then threw a custard pie…

    I’m so predictable.

  3. Lottie said

    I shot a man in Reno ’cause I didn’t like his tie.

  4. Mike said

    I shot a man in Reno who said a pig could fly.

  5. Lottie said

    I shot a man in Reno who fucked up my stir fry.

  6. Mike said

    I shot a man in Reno who did my loan application deny.

  7. Lottie said

    I shot a man in Reno to prove I wasn’t shy.

  8. Mike said

    I shot a man duck in Reno who poked his bill in my eye.

  9. Lottie said

    I shot a man hippie in Reno for wearing too much tie-dye.

  10. Mike said

    I shot a man in Reno ’cause he kissed my wi(fe).

Leave a Reply

 
