The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

A short story

Posted by That Other Mike on 20/09/2008

An Answerphone Message from The Meek
“Um… Yeah. Hi. Uh, this is the meek. Just wanted to, you know, give you a call. Cause of that thing. You know. Yeah. Anyway. The thing. Look, it’s not that we’re not, you know, grateful, but– Would you quit? Quit it. Guys. I’m trying to do this… Anyway, yeah. The thing. We’re, like, totally grateful and everything. But. The thing is, we don’t know what to do with it. I mean, like I said, we’re all so totally grateful for the opportunity. It’s a wonderful gift, in some ways, don’t get us wrong, it really is, but, uh… We’re not sure we’d know what to do with it. And there are probably more deserving people out there. Hundreds of them, right? I mean, we’re meek, right? Just not very assertive, is what it is, I guess I’m saying. Anyway, just wanted to let you know what we were thinking. I guess we thought maybe someone else would be better than us at, you know, doing something with it. Or something. I don’t know. Can you call us back? I don’t want to be pushy or anything about it, but I think maybe we should talk if you can spare the time. Or want to. Just to talk over this whole inheriting the Earth stuff. Maybe get some coffee with us or something? Anyway, you can reach us at–”

6 Responses to “A short story”

  1. Lottie said

    I like it! 😀

  2. Mike said

    Thanks, Baby 🙂

  3. Bloody excellent! That really made me smile — didn’t see where it was going, initially. Good, good, good!

  4. Mike said

    Thanks! I always like to surprise…

  5. saintpaulgrrl said

    This quite tickled my fancy. Thanks for making me smile! 🙂

  6. Mike said

    You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
