The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Sinking Ships

Posted by That Other Mike on 07/12/2008

I haven’t posted anything substantial in a while, which is fine with me. BWO, remember? I do have something brewing in my mind about juries, grand and otherwise, but nothing written down, as yet.

I’m also stumbling through attempting a novel. It’s all new, completely different material for me; my previous attempt, into which I got about 1/3 of the way before becoming frozen, is still something I want to get back to one day, but for now, I’m on this. It’s coming out easily and clearly, and I’m just steaming ahead, not editing as I go, just getting the words onto the page screen as fast as I can. Reactions from Lottie and Gary to the first chapter have been positive, and I hope to get it finished by the end of January if I can.

In the meantime, lacking anything more compelling or substantial in nature, I want to just talk a little about something of little consequence.

Juno is one of my favourite films. It’s a quirky weird little love story that shows sometimes things can turn out alright, even if they do go a bit astray in the meantime. That’s something I can get behind, and I think it’s kind of an important thing for film makers to give us that message every once in a while. While Juno is obviously a film that explores the dynamics of failing relationships, it also shows happiness: Juno’s parents are happy together, and she and Paulie make it out OK in the end.

It’s a happy movie, unashamedly romantic in parts, if in an odd fashion, and that’s why I like it.

Another one of the great things about it is the music, from Bary Louis Polisar’s All I Want Is You at the beginning to the interval of Sonic Youth and the final song which is just sweet as can be.

That song is by an artist called Kimya Dawson, who is from that weird vein of music called anti-folk that totally subverts the genre </pretentiousness>. Her music is odd, intense and often very personal; it’s also highly competent and well-performed.

She also performs the following song, which is called Loose Lips.

The video isn’t visually interesting, and you won’t lose anything if you just follow along with the lyrics:

loose lips might sink ships but loose gooses take trips
to san francisco, double dutch disco,
tech tv hottie, do it for scotty
do it for the living and do it for the dead
do it for the monsters under your bed
do it for the teenagers and do it for your mom
broken hearts hurt but they make us strong and

we won’t stop until somebody calls the cops
and even then we’ll start again and just pretend that
nothing ever happened

we won’t stop until somebody calls the cops
and even then we’ll start again and just pretend that
nothing ever happened

we’re just dancing, we’re just hugging,
singing, screaming, kissing, tugging
on the sleeve of how it used to be
how’s it gonna be?
i’ll drop kick russell stover, move into the starting over house
and know matt rouse and jest are watching me achieve my dreams

and we’ll pray, all damn day, every day,
that all this shit our president has got us in will go away
while we strive to figure out a way we can survive
these trying times without losing our minds

so if you wanna burn yourself remember that I LOVE YOU
and if you wanna cut yourself remember that I LOVE YOU
and if you wanna kill yourself remember that I LOVE YOU
call me up before your dead, we can make some plans instead
send me an IM, i’ll be your friend

shysters live from scheme to scheme and my 4th quarter pipe dreams
are seeming more and more worth fighting for
so i’ll curate some situations, make my job a big vacation
and i’ll say FUCK BUSH AND FUCK THIS WAR
my war paint is sharpie ink and i’ll show you how much my shit stinks
and ask you what you think because your thoughts and words are powerful
they think we’re disposable, well both my thumbs opposable
are spelled out on a double word and triple letter score

we won’t stop until somebody calls the cops
and even then we’ll start again and just pretend that
nothing ever happened

we won’t stop until somebody calls the cops
and even then we’ll start again and just pretend that
nothing ever happened

we’re just dancing, we’re just hugging,
singing, screaming, kissing, tugging
on the sleeve of how it used to be

I just really like that song. It’s silly but serious, personal and human, and I would recommend that you go and listen to more Kimya Dawson.

One Response to “Sinking Ships”

  1. Lottie said

    I love this! And I find your liking it to be very endearing. ::smooch::

Leave a Reply

 
