The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

With Love, To My Wife

Posted by That Other Mike on 20/03/2009

One year ago today, my wife and I were married by a judge in the San Antonio courthouse.

It was a long time coming, and we’d been through a lot before that, and a lot since, but it has always been worth it. We’re a perfect match, like cheese and tomato, every element coming together perfectly, like a BLT.

And yes, I did just compare our relationship to a sandwich. It’s a good sandwich, and besides, my wife loves a good BLT.

We’ve been a couple now for almost a decade, all told. There have been highs and lows, good times and bad, but whatever has happened, I’ve been happy and grateful for every minute that she’s been in my life. Even when we’ve argued, even when we’ve shouted, screamed and stomped around, I’ve felt lucky that I was arguing with her.

My wife is my one true love. She makes me happy; she supports and validates and completes my life. Without her, my life would be so much worse, and if I believed in a god, I’d bend my knee every day and thank it for bringing her into my life. As it is, all I can do is appreciate her, love her and cherish her for every minute of the rest of our lives, but that seems like more than enough to me.

There’s no way that I could ever tell her how much I love her and how much she means to me, but you can bet your last penny I will spend the rest of my life trying. I believe in us, and always will.

Happy Anniversary, Lottie. I love you!

3 Responses to “With Love, To My Wife”

  1. Lottie said

    Every word of this made me smile.

    I love you too, Mike! I’ll spend the rest of my life trying to show you.

    I will never stop believing in us.

  2. Mike said

    Good! You know how much I like to make you smile.

  3. Lottie said

    Yes, and you do it every day. I love you!

Leave a Reply

 
