The Odd Blog

And when our cubs grow / We'll show you what war is good for

Recent events

Posted by That Other Mike on 30/01/2012

Hi Everybody (Hi Dr Nick!)

Recent news is sparse. However, biggest by far lately is that I got my Social Security number and Green Card, so I am now fully able to pursue work and do other stuff (like stay here without any trouble), so yay me! I am officially and completely a Permanent Resident, and I can prove it! I’ve been looking for work for a couple of weeks, and I have some good leads, including one job in particular that I really want and hope to get.

In other news, while taking out the trash one evening, my son and I found an adult men’s bike in the dumpster. It’s a Schwinn Caliente, with minor rust damage on the front and rear rims, spokes and a couple of other areas. It looks like it’s been sitting in someone’s garage for years, and it looks like it’s never been ridden. So the Boy and I will be fixing it up for summer, and as he’s nearly as tall as me now, we’ll share it.

2 Responses to “Recent events”

  1. Lynda M O said

    Great find-way to go. Summer looms closer with each passing day and those joys of the season that matter most will happen.

  2. It seems that it’s an actual 1980s Schwinn, if you can believe it. It’s only moderate restoration, so it’ll be a nice project for us.

Leave a Reply

 
